Shenandoah Region



Jessica Thompson

[email protected]

Melissa Hanes

[email protected]


Member Spotlight on Jessica Thompson

What is one thing you cannot resist?

One thing that I cannot resist is chocolate!  

Where is your favorite place to be?

My favorite place to be is at home with my husband.

What is your greatest fear?

My greatest fear is snakes. 

Where is the best place you’ve traveled and why?

The best place that I’ve ever traveled to was Chicago with my husband.  We have gone twice, both for ALA conferences, and had so much fun. I love conferences and then spending the evenings exploring the city with my husband.

What would you do if you were not a librarian?

If I were not a school librarian, I would be an instructor for future librarians.  I love what I do and I love sharing that and inspiring future school librarians.

If you were stuck on an island, what three things would you bring?

If I were stuck on an island, I would have to bring my family (including my dog), chocolate, and books!

What is the first thing you would do if you won the lottery?

If I ever win the lottery, the first thing I would do is pay my bills off!  That would give me more freedom to do a bit of traveling!

If you could be any fictional character, who would you choose?

If I could be any fictional character I would want to be Hermoine Grainger.  How awesome is it that a Muggle-born can do magic? 

What is your favorite food or treat?

My favorite food is pizza.

What was the last book you read?

The last book I read was The House with Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson.

What do you like to do on your days off?

I like to spend my days off with my husband.  Often we will just watch some movies or run errands.  Just being together is what I enjoy.

What has been the most important innovation you have witnessed in your lifetime?

The most important innovation that I have witnessed in my lifetime is the cell phone.  It is hard to remember how we stayed in touch with our loved ones without a quick text!

Finish this sentence:  I am happiest when:

I am happiest when I know both of my children are doing well and are happy and healthy.

If you could transform one part of your library, what would you change?

If I could transform one part of my library, I would remove the story steps and platform at the back of the room, and make the cozy reading nooks that are there more visible to the center of the room.



Each region is represented with two votes on the Board of Directors by the Regional Director and the Regional Director-Elect. A term of office is 2 years. Each year a new Director-Elect is elected for each region by the general VAASL membership.

The main role of each position is to represent the librarians and interests of the region on the board.  The Director coordinates the Regional Spring Conference and the Director-Elect coordinates the selection of the region's School Librarian of the Year. Each director contributes content through VAASL's communication channels. Interested in joining the VAASL Board of Directors? Nominate yourself or another person for your region's Director-Elect. The ballot slate is filled each spring by the VAASL Past-President. Additionally, each summer/fall, committees are filled for the following year by the Executive Board.

The next Shenandoah Spring Conference is scheduled for March 10, 2021. 

School Librarian of the Year 

Applications for the School Librarian of the Year are due January 31st of each year. A copy of the application is available in PDF for download. Final applications are submitted online.

Previous Recipients

      2020   Lisa Gibson   2019  IdaMae Craddock*
2018 Kimberly McInturff   2017 Anita Mays   2016  Margaret Alger
2015 Andrea Nolley    2014 Pam Nelson   2013 Jamie Chapman 
2012 Scott Cassell   2011 Vicki King   2010 Krista Heres
2009 Margaret Baker   2008 Rebecca Keese   2007 Clarisse Bushman
2006 Edmunda Richards   2005 Diane Goodrich   2004 Meneta Deaton
2003 Linda Bowers   2002 Susan Clark   2001 Latane Long


*denotes state winner

 School Districts in the Shenandoah Region

Virginia members belong to the Region of their work location.

Albemarle County Public Schools Amherst County Public Schools Augusta County Public Schools
Bath County Public Schools Buckingham County Public Schools Buena Vista City Public Schools
Charlottesville City Schools Fluvanna County Public Schools Greene County Public Schools
Harrisonburg City Public Schools Highland County Public Schools Lexington City Schools
Louisa County Public Schools Madison County Public Schools Nelson County Public Schools
Page County Public Schools Rockbridge County Public Schools Rockingham County Public Schools
Shenandoah County Public Schools Staunton City Schools Waynesboro Public Schools