Roanoke Region



Moriah Moore

[email protected]


[email protected]


Member Spotlight on Moriah Moore:

What is one thing you cannot resist?


Where is your favorite place to be?

 Holden Beach, NC

What is the weirdest job you ever had?

 Assembly line work at a vinegar bottling factory

Where is the best place you’ve traveled and why?

 Edinburg, Scotland because it's beautiful, so much history and nice people

What would you do if you were not a librarian?

 Flounder aimlessly

Favorite movie line/quote:


"Remember, Red, hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies."


If you could choose anyone - alive or dead - as a mentor, who would you pick?

 Michelle Obama

What is the first thing you would do if you won the lottery?

 Build my dream home

What is the coolest (or most important) trend you see today?

 Book delivery/virtual games/sign language

What is your favorite food or treat?


Kroger brand white cheddar cheese popcorn


What advice do you give students who haven’t read a book in a while?

 Think of a TV show or movie you love and see if a librarian can help you find a similar book

What was the last book you read?

 The Library Book, by Susan Orlean 

What do you like to do on your days off?

 Play volleyball

What librarian job duty has surprised you the most?

 More crafting than I anticipated

If you could transform one part of your library, what would you change?

 Add easy access outdoor space


Each region is represented with two votes on the Board of Directors by the Regional Director and the Regional Director-Elect. A term of office is 2 years. Each year a new Director-Elect is elected for each region by the general VAASL membership.

The main role of each position is to represent the librarians and interests of the region on the board.  The Director coordinates the Regional Spring Conference and the Director-Elect coordinates the selection of the region's School Librarian of the Year. Each director contributes content through VAASL's communication channels. Interested in joining the VAASL Board of Directors? Nominate yourself or another person for your region's Director-Elect. The ballot slate is filled each spring by the VAASL Past-President. Additionally, each summer/fall, committees are filled for the following year by the Executive Board.


The next Roanoke Spring Conference is scheduled for March 10, 2021.

 School Librarian of the Year

Applications for the School Librarian of the Year are due January 31st of each year. A copy of the application is available in PDF for download. Final applications are submitted online.

Previous Recipients

       2020  Barbara Barber   2019  Haley Walters
2018 Mary Jo Krufka   2017  Sarah Haskins   2016  Kendel Lively
2015 Linda Yeatts    2014 Robert Joyce   2013 Jo Davis 
2012 Susan Light   2011 Heather Balsley   2010 Kathy Meredith
2009 Nicole Foley   2008 Nancy Keenan   2007 Mary Jo Krufka
2006  N/A   2005 Sandra Grant   2004 Ava Jackson
2003 Mary Jakubowski   2002 Elizabeth Keaton   2001 Wendy Gibson


 School Districts in the Roanoke Region

Virginia members belong to the Region of their work location.

Allegany County Public Schools Bedford County Public Schools Botentourt County Public Schools
Campbell County Public Schools Covington City Public Schools Craig County Public Schools
Danville City Public Schools Floyd County Public Schools Franklin County Public Schools
Giles County Public Schools Henry County Public Schools Lynchburg City Public Schools
Martinsville City Public Schools Montgomery County Public Schools Patrick County Public Schools
Pittsylvania County Public Schools Pulaski County Public Schools Radford City Public Schools
Roanoke City Public Schools Roanoke County Public Schools Salem City Public Schools
Wythe County Public Schools