Rappahannock Region




 Image result for nathan sekinger, librarian, virginia

 Nathan Sekinger

[email protected]

Kimberly Allen 

[email protected]


Member Spotlight on Nathan Sekinger:

What is your greatest fear?


Where is the best place you’ve traveled and why?


If you were stuck on an island, what three things would you bring?


Favorite movie line/quote:


If you could choose anyone - alive or dead - as a mentor, who would you pick?


What is the first thing you would do if you won the lottery?


What music did you listen to this week?


If you could be any fictional character, who would you choose?


What is your favorite food or treat?


What was the last book you read?


What do you like to do on your days off?


What has been the most important innovation you have witnessed in your lifetime?


Finish this sentence:  I am happiest when...


How do you balance your career and family?




Each region is represented with two votes on the Board of Directors by the Regional Director and the Regional Director-Elect. A term of office is 2 years. Each year a new Director-Elect is elected for each region by the general VAASL membership.

The main role of each position is to represent the librarians and interests of the region on the board.  The Director coordinates the Regional Spring Conference and the Director-Elect coordinates the selection of the region's School Librarian of the Year. Each director contributes content through VAASL's communication channels. Interested in joining the VAASL Board of Directors? Nominate yourself or another person for your region's Director-Elect. The ballot slate is filled each spring by the VAASL Past-President. Additionally, each summer/fall, committees are filled for the following year by the Executive Board.


The next Rappahannock Spring Conference is scheduled for March 11, 2021.

 School Librarian of the Year

Applications for the School Librarian of the Year are due January 31st of each year. A copy of the application is available in PDF for download. Final applications are submitted online.

Previous Recipients

 2021  Elizabeth Barnes    2020  Kimberly Allen   2019 Jessica Drinks
2018 Brittany Orolin   2017  Nathan Sekinger*   2016  
2015 Michelle Yates   2014 Laura Godshall   2013 Lauren Ball 
2012 Jenny Ashby   2011 Cindy Ward   2010 Janice Raspen
2009 Cheryl Wonsik   2008 Jacqueline Keith   2007 Tammie Grayson
2006 Martha Baden   2005 Linda Sholander   2004 Marsha Stewart
2003 Eileen Godwin   2002     2001 Audrey Mitchell


*denotes state winner

School Districts in the Rappahannock Region

Virginia members belong to the Region of their work location.

Caroline County Public Schools Essex County Public Schools King and Queen County Public Schools
King George County Schools King William County Public Schools Lancaster County Public Schools
Middlesex County Public Schools Northumberland County Public Schools Richmond County Public Schools 
Spotsylavania County Public Schools Stafford County Public Schools  Westmoreland County Public Schools