ribbonSchool Librarian of the Year Award

Deadline: January 15

This award recognizes outstanding Virginia school librarians.

Regional Recipient

The Regional Winner of the School Librarian of the Year will be announced at each region's Spring Conference. A plaque will be awarded at that time, and the winner’s Annual Conference registration and banquet fee will be paid by VAASL.

Final Winner

Winners from each of VAASL's seven regions are the candidates for the state School Librarian of the Year. An updated application with all information, indicating contributions and accomplishments in the field, should be sent to the Scholarships and Awards Committee Chair. The winner will be honored at the Annual Conference Awards Banquet and will receive an engraved crystal award, and $500.00 for professional development.


All nominees must be VAASL members.

Application Must Include

  • Nomination Form completed by a friend, colleague, or supervisor of the nominee
  • Application Form, including narrative and references


The Regional Director-Elect will choose a panel to evaluate the nominees and select a winner. These panel members will not be connected with any of the nominees, and could be selected from local universities, retirees, or from the public library system.

Previous Recipients

2014 Lisa Manikas
2013 Jeannie Graham
2012 Jen Spisak
2011 Tracy Aitken
2010 Kathy Meredith
2009  Marilyn Garnto
2008  Andrea Clarke
2007  Tammie Grayson
2006  Martha Baden
2005  Shelor Smith & Wendy Sellors
2004  Diane Capron
2003  Debbie Griffin
2002  Julie Tate
2001  Audrey Mitchell